From where i stand!!!

By Dancingninja

Iris my mums favourite flower

Today was my mum’s funeral. 3 weeks ago she died after a short battle with lung cancer.

It was a roller coaster of a day. The drive to the crematorium was interesting with my mums partner making jokes to lighten the mood, my sister rolling her eyes as she wanted to be maudlin, the boys sat in the back didn’t know what to make of it and I just sat looking out the window trying to make sense of the situation.
I don’t believe it should be a sad time at the end of the day we come into this world we have our journey, with all its ups and downs and there were a few in my mums life and then we die of whatever that may be.
It’s life isn’t it and rightly or wrongly That is how I see it.
I wore a blue jumpsuit with flowers on and red shoes I went to town. Mum didn’t want any black so we went to the opposite end of the scale. Everyone was in lovely bright colours. Mum had arranged all the service which was nice and the vicar said some lovely things about her and read some words mum had asked her to say.
So it all felt very personal to her and not just words given to the vicar to say.
We went on for Dots doo at a lovely farm shop cafe, which is down the road from where she lived.
We have out forget me not flower seeds in envelopes, which may or may not have been forget me nots depending on whether you got the one packet with them in, you may have ended up with carrots
I think I got round most people,there was about 60/70 came back the ones I did had lovely things to say about her, telling me of the parties she had when she was younger and things she had done for them.
I was exhausted by the end.
I would like to think we’d done her proud and she was sat up there with a glass of wine in one hand and a fag in the other, enjoying the scene.
So that was that a lovely send off for my mum!!

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened “ ~dr Seuss

:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.