Happy 4th!

This is my attempt at a Fourth of July celebration. Not very good for an American! There should be hot dogs and potato salad and ice cream! But at least there is a flag!

Life is very busy these days. I’m getting ready for almost a month in the US. I’m used to being gone for 3 days at a time. A month feels like a very big deal!! So I’ve not made any time for gathering friends and doing a REAL 4th of July celebration. Oh well, some years are like that!

Incidentally, I’m experimenting with different zero alcohol beers. This one is actually quite good.

Check Extra photo for this evening’s sunset, enjoyed right from my ‘front porch’. It’s not really a front porch - not like an American one. But I have a nice sitting area at the front of my house with flowers around it, and I just PRETEND it’s a front porch. It’s a great place to enjoy the evening sun.

My dream house has a big American wrap-around porch. This is probably the closest thing I’ll ever get to the real thing. Sometimes neighbours see me out there and stop by for a visit which is nice.

I once had a friend/gardener who expressed shock that I would put a bench at the front of my house. He said “We don’t DO that in England! We don’t sit out at the front of our houses!” Well? Who cares?? I’ll be the ‘Independant’ American who bucks the system!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.