Cumbria Here I Come

By marpaul

Well I never... the things you learn.  Whilst looking up the name of this flower as I couldn't remember it, I discovered that its a Knapweed and that if you pinch off an old flower head and pull off any loose seeds, and split the hard kernel there will probably be a small grub in it which the Goldfinches love.   I often pull off the old flower heads.... but now I know that think I'd better leave them on.  Taken through the window so hasn't come out too bad.

Had some sad news today, a lady who used to look after dogs for me when I ran the home boarding business passed away over the weekend.  She only messaged me a few weeks ago saying she was very ill and I was planning to visit her over the next few weeks.  I hadn't realised just how ill she was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.