Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Mills

I made a post-work excursion to Silsden to take in some more pre-season football, but also to enjoy a short walk along the River Aire and Leeds-Liverpool Canal. Today’s scene is from the stretch of canal leading back into the town, with the an arm of Rombalds Moor rising up above the mills.

I'd been hoping for a bit of butterfly activity and although it was dull, a few Painted Lady and Small Tortoiseshell were sucking what remained of the day's warmth from the bare earth tracks. 

In the football, Silsden were hosting Ossett United. Ossett took the lead in the third minute which earned me the princely sum of £25 in the golden goal competition. Thereafter it was a fairly even game, Silsden equalised in the second half before Ossett secured a late winner. 1-2 it finished. I've posted a few images from the match over on Twitter.

Earlier, I'd seen my first Small Skipper of the year (extra) during my lunchtime walk through Woodhouse Moor park. 

Butterfly Journal 2019

22. 11/07/19  Small Skipper. Woodhouse Moor, Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.