Haikography

By JanBee

365 - The Rime of the Ancient Blipper

or possibly "The blip of the ancient rhymer".

Can't believe I've made it to 365!!!

I know everyone says this, but the land of blip really is a wonderful place to be and I have made so many lovely blip chums.

The thing I love most is that it makes me do something a little creative each day, which alone is good for the soul, but which is made even better by looking at everyone else's creative output and sharing thoughts comments and laughs!

You are a very special lot..... xx

Lately I have tried to do a haiku/poem/limerick a day, but todays attempt is a bastardisation of The Rime of the Ancient Mariner ... with profuse apologies to Coleridge .... read if you can be bothered!

The Rime of the Ancient Blipper (abridged version)

It is an ancient blipper
She stoppeth one of three
"By thy long black coat and squinty eye,
Wherefore stoppest thou me?"

She holds him with her skinny hand,
"I had to blip", quoth she
"Hold off, unhand me camera loon"
And soon her hand dropped she.

He sat himself upon a chair
He was careful not to slip
And thus focussed the ancient one
And did proceed to blip.
....

"God save thee ancient blipper,
From the fiends that plague thee thus,
Why look'st thou so?" - "With my telephoto,
I shot the albatross".

Hour after hour, hour after hour,
I sat, nor breath, nor motion.
As idle as a painted ship,
Upon a painted ocean.

Water, water everywhere.
I tried to get very near
Water, water everywhere,
But just couldn't focus clear.

At first it seemed a little speck,
And then it seemed a mist.
It moved and moved and took at last
A certain shape, I wist.

A speck, a mist, a shape, I wist,
And still it neared and neared.
But I just couldn't get the shot,
It plunged and tacked and veered.

...

Farewell, farewell, but this I tell,
To thee, thou patient man
She photographs well who waiteth well,
Without a trembling hand.

He went like one who had been stunned,
And is of sense forlorn,
A sadder and a wiser man,
He rose the morrow morn.


(proper version here)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.