arm's length

In order to be able to get the last two days of the first week of the month off I accompanied my holiday-request with an offer to pop in on the Sunday and get some stuff run to make sure all my bits of first-week-of-the-month stuff were nice and completed by the time I left seeing as the first actual day of the month conveniently fell on a non-working day, permitting work to be undertaken in advance. I'd done a few things remotely in the morning and early afternoon but the slight inconvenience of the protracted multi-step remote login process coupled with the pain of working in a slightly smaller window-within-window meant that popping in was sensible for the bulk of work, especially when combined with my normal leave-next-week's-shirts walk. The afternoon sun was just hitting my desk when I eventually got in, highlighting every single little oatcake crumb and shed beard-hair with a long shadow. Reasoning that spending too long attempting to get a picture of this would detract from what I was in there for I just took a quick phonecam picture of the brush with which I swept the detritus away before getting on with things until a particularly slow-running update gave me a window for this. I shall now go and tidy up my beard so that I more closely resemble my passport-self on Thursday and so that I leave fewer spare hairs on my desk over the next few days in case anyone needs to use my workstation whilst I'm off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.