Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Coming ashore ...

I suppose I have a particular fascination with this bit of shore at Toward, south of Dunoon, because of the sudden appearance of Old Red Sandstone rocks, clearly visible in this photo and very different from the shaley greys of this area. This is the point where the Highland Boundary Fault cuts off the southern tip of the Cowal Peninsula from the town of Dunoon and the country to the north of that, and the sandstone is the stuff I grew so familiar with in Arran when I was a child. The stone of Corrie, on the east coast of Arran, is just the same as this, and so when I see these rocks I can go back in my head to the red sandstone harbour and the neat cottages overlooking it.

We were having a late and very unambitious walk after spending the rest of the day on what I always think of as our slash-and-burn gardening technique. Not that we had the fun of the burning, you realise - there are houses all round us. Anyway, I can now report that - at least until rain bashes down some tall monbretia or whatever it's called - our back garden path is now passable to more than that hedegehog.

And now it's late because I was watching a programme about Elvis. I fear my age is showing ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.