Dunagoil Fort & Kilchattan Bay

Thwarted by a bull with his harem of cows in front of our gate, determined not to budge and with 'that stare', I concluded that we'd just go to our next destination. We retraced our steps back to the van, still enjoying the early morning light. Just as we set off up the road, I remembered another signed entrance as we approached the layby. 

Not a cow in sight! Just a swarm of flies that had descended on the van to negotiate on setting off. Nothing that a swirling cloth above your head couldn't sort. 

I'm really glad it worked out because the fort and coastline were really picturesque. Having read the history, it was fascinating to work out where the animals were kept and find some stones from the fortress on top. There were lots of butterflies, pipits, wheatears and a buzzard. Even another hare on the way back out. 

The flies seemed to have accepted the van in their space and were nowhere to be seen so we had an easy van entry and journeyed around to Kilchattan Bay. 

10.30 by now but definitely time for lunch so I fed up before our next outing to Glencallum Bay. The route follows the first part of the West Island Way. It was a gorgeous and mostly flat route with oodles of wildflowers including orchids as well as butterflies and a buzzard family. 

We passed the dramatic Hawk's Nib, stopped to give Little Dog a cooler in the sea and headed on round to Glencallum Bay for a proper soak and play with the ball. She was actually quite brave and I was somewhat tempted myself. 

We strolled back past the lighthouse, pausing here and there to notice things like a dragonfly in a pond and the stunning red rocks stretching along the coastline. 

There's barely a breath of air and my midge radar was on high alert. There were a few, particularly this morning but, amazingly, no clouds of them. 

It's now time to chill. And eat. Strawberries and scone have gone. What next?

By, what next, I actually meant food but once we'd chilled for a while and had the excitement of specks of harbour porpoises in the bay, I'd got itchy feet. And the van could do with a little charge along with my phone. So, upsticks! We went off to tour the island for an hour or two, checking out possible overnight spots and having a recce for a winter trip some time. 

I pretty much drove the entire island, starting with the east side of the Kyles of Bute. Tremendously pretty and, what I realised was a first for me, seeing Scottish mountains dressed in green. I've never set foot in Scotland in summer and they do look mighty dapper. The blue sky and fluffy clouds obviously helps!

Onto the west side of beaches and I was on the lookout for a good place for the night. There were some 'good' ones but in the end, I found myself two inches to the right of the spot I left two hours earlier. Something just drew me back to this idyllic spot.

Time for more food, more drinks and porpoise watching out to sea. I lived in hope that one might come in close but they were determined to torment me. That is until the very last flyby of the night when mum and calf ventured no more than 10-15 metres from the shore line in front of my disbelieving eyes. I shot out of the van, cared not a bite that the midges were out and merrily watched and shot three pictures as they cruised by. 

I wasn't expecting the last photo of the day to be my Blip but I strongly suspect it will be. I could be hours deciding!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.