She's here to stay .....

.... a while.

As I mentioned yesterday (just posted now!) I think this beautiful female ruby-throated hummingbird will be around for a while!  At least we can only hope that's the case! I lost count of how many times I saw her today.  

I got this picture whilst I was in the pool!  The bee balm is located right behind the pool so I set up the camera on a tripod on the edge of the pool (outside of it of course!) and watched for her to come around.  I didn't have to wait long .... thankfully my being so close to her didn't bother her in the least!

Later on in the evening while R was swimming he saw another female .... and this one zoomed right after her.  I think we have a turf war on our hands!  But I'll take that to no hummers at all, which is how I thought the summer was going to go! 

In other news .... the monarch caterpillar that I blipped last Tuesday pupated this morning.  We now have a beautiful chrysalis and are awaiting our first butterfly.  The chrysalis stage is normally 10-14 days .... so stayed tuned! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.