Jacqi's 365 Days 2013

By JacqiB

Walks, walks, walks

I don't really do New Year resolutions but one thing I do intend to do in 2013 is 'be kinder to my body'. That's really a non-target-specific way of saying that I will exercise more and eat fewer empty calories.

I plan do do quite a lot of walking as well as some exercise classes and swimming. My local pool re-opens on 6th January after being closed for earthquake strengthening. I recently got involved in hosting walks for a meetup group called Wellywalks and, as part of that, I will be entering the 10km fun walk called Round the Vines in Martinborough on 17th March. I hope to also be part of a team doing the cancer Society's Relay for Life on 9th March.

Last night we had a party at our place - relocated from the other end of town because the hostess had a tummy bug. Most of the overnight guests left quite early - about 9am - but Lucy stayed longer and, after a breakfast of boiled eggs and soldiers, we went for a couple of short walks. The first was to the Charles Duncan reserve, literally around the corner from home, where we saw a mother duck with six ducklings. Then we drove to the other side of town to the Tawa Lookout which is where I took this photograph. It is a very short walk from the road to the lookout and I doubt I'd go there again unless I was showing a visitor the town. However, having lived in Tawa just over a year, and passing a signpost for the lookout most days, I felt I should take a look. It was incredibly windy and, after a few photos, we went back home. Lucy and I then scheduled a Wellywalk to go up Mount Victoria tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.