Holocaust

Today was my first visit ever to the Holocaust Museum in Washington D.C. Suffice it to say that my family (from the Alsace region in France) suffered its own painful trauma during that time of history and I'm well acquainted with the horrors of that time on a very personal level.

Two things struck me:
1. The documented circumstances leading to the rise and power of the Nazis ring a bell for today's times -- from propaganda to the vilification of certains groups of people, and the blind (and gleeful) followership of those messages...

2. The incredible ignorance of some of the visitors (based on remarks gleaned as I walked through the museum). For some, it seemed as though they'd never heard of the Holocaust; others' comments about various parts of the exhibits were downright insulting. I wanted to slap them into reality. If this doesn't do it, what will?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.