Walking in the New Year

It was a lovely blustery day - windy, smile frozen, boots caked in mud, a wake up call to the New Year as we did a few miles locally.

Last year for one reason or another I probably did the least amount of hill walking and backpacking for over 10 years. The atrocious weather didn't help but other factors impacted.

I'm not particularly 'weighty' shall we say. When I was 26 my waist size was 26 inches. When I turned 27, it was 27, at 30 I took a 30 and at 40 I took a 28... I think in the last 2 years though I've crept up to 32 and while I know that's not exactly a problem, I just don't feel particularly fit. I remember days not so long ago when the only limit to the amount of walking we could do was the amount of time or food we had. Fatigue just didn't really happen, and not because we were super-fit, but we were 'hill-fit', which is a different thing.

Out today in the bluster and cold I felt great. I wonder if my migraines are a result of this lack of 'de-stressing' time; that I didn't get enough done last year.

I want that back this year so although I don't really do resolutions, I do want to get more hill walking done. I want mountain photo's!

All being well we're booking a last minute weekend in the Lakes for Friday to really kick it off. Need to sort a few things out but fingers crossed!

And this photo - I can't link it into this write up but it was my favourite photo of the day :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.