Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Maypop

Outside the window where I have my chair sitting is a nandina bush that we have had since we moved into this house.    This spring I cut it way back so that it would not look like a tree.

This week I noticed this little flower thing and kept watching it bloom and die and then I saw the little "seed pod/ maypop".    It is a tiny passionflower that has somehow vined around this plant.   They are not purple as passionflowers are normally and only about as big as a US nickel..maybe 1/2 inch across.    I took a couple of photos through the window but had to go outside to get the maypop.      There are blooms all over the vine so we are going to give it some plant food in hopes that they might get a little bigger or turn more purple. 

Sometimes you get little unexpected gifts.    This is why my journal is called "Common Enchantments"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.