The Dancers

It was another hot day today, so I went out early and walked to the grocery store while it was still cool. I walked along the Cherry Creek trail that snakes through the city and lies just below the traffic above. See first Extra photo - which also shows some more examples of the Denver street art.

On my way back from my errand (with a stop for breakfast!) I passed by Sculpture Park by the Denver Centre For Performing Arts - the second largest arts complex in the US, and just 1 block from my condo! Some of my previous tenants have been performers. Sculpture Park is their outdoor arena and they host concerts and events there during the summer months. It can accommodate 4000 people.

The Dancers sculpture is 60 feet tall and made out of steel and fibreglass. It was installed in 2003 by the artist Jonathan Borofsky.

In the evening I went to yet another jazz event at the nearby Dazzle club. It was an evening with a jazz accordionist. My parents did own and play an accordion when I was young. Even so, I would never have gravitated to a whole concert, but the owner of the club told me it was one not to be missed. And it WAS fun! See second Extra photo.

The musician was a young man named Cory Pesaturo, along with Drew Zaremba on the electric organ and the saxophone and Hiroki Kitazawa on the drums. Cory is considered one of the best and most innovative accordion musicians, known not just in the jazz world but as a classical musician as well, with several other music genres thrown in too. He’s played with orchestras, done a couple of TED talks, performed four times at the White House and has become a Guinness world records holder. I thoroughly enjoyed the evening over dinner, and it just goes to show you should always be open to new types of music!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.