PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

The search continues

In November I started a project of finding and photographing a series of 40 plaques that had been placed in the flood defence wall, built after the 2005 Carlisle floods. I have continued this search and it has taken me into hidden bits of Carlisle, where I have found paths by the river I didn't know were there.

Today I was accompanied and the two of us followed a little road out of the centre of the city, found the river, found the paths by the river and more plaques. (We also found a weir and a huge factory and learnt a lot about the textile industry of Carlisle, but more on that later.)

This area of Denton Holme was badly flooded and this picture shows a little of the new flood defences and one of the plaques inserted into the wall. You can also see here the riverside path and the River Caldew itself. I have enlarged the plaque so it can be read. I don't as yet know how this particular one came about, but as the idea was that local people should be involved, I can only think that this was a poem based on experiences of flood water entering your home. Looked at in this way, it is quite a graphic piece of prose.

Plaques found: 14/40

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.