It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Back to Black (and white)

Rosemary had entered the NY Edinburgh triathlon (without asking what I fancied doing... just as well I fancied being a spectator) so we were in bed well before the bells! We didn't have to be up at the Commie Pool until around 10:45am so breakfast was relaxed (albeit for me).

I could tell R was nervous! The usual cycle departure involves her pedaling in a sloth like fashion for the first hour (then she drops me) but the higher pace showed that the cortisol levels were inflated! After registration, there was quite a bit of waiting about, in which R checked her kit in transition at least 20 times to ensure it hadn't blown away. It hadn't! Still, it never helps if the 'moral support' gets grumpy.

I enjoy being at races in Scotland as I always see lots of old faces....none come older than Arnott Kidd and it's great to see him still racing. I usually want to race when I'm a spectator but running outdoors from a warm swimming pool to bike and run round Arthur's Seat in January doesn't appeal. It was sunny and warm(ish) which meant that ½ of Edinburgh's population had descended on the park....hmmm, most hadn't watched the 'Charlie Says' adverts as most failed to looked both ways before crossing the roads in front of the unsuspecting triathletes. Fortunately, with excellent marshalling and a bit of good luck, no one was knocked down.

Very proud of R for being 2nd female (23rd overall outta 264) having the fastest bike split, despite not being very well for the last week. A fine win for Alice Hector, a very fine runner who had the 4th overall fastest run (against the guys).

After the race, we had a fine social evening at the house of some fellow triathletes. Hospitality was world class, as was the soup, rolls and macaroni-cheese! I could have happily got sozzled but my train back to Manchester the following morning was at 5:36am!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.