Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Life of Henry

An early(ish) walk this morning for Henry and I before our friend arrived. This old boat is very blippable, and Henry didn't mind being up there. Except when another wee dog came to talk to me, and Henry doesn't like that, thinking that I might be going to give some of HIS doggie biccies away.

We've had a great day with S. She's an adventurer par excellence. She cycled to Paris with a friend when she was 16, the panniers full of tinned salmon etc. They soon ditched that in favour of local food!

In the 70s (her 20s) she went to work for the Shah of Iran, teaching his children English. She has just been volunteering at a school in Morocco. She's now planning her next Very Exciting trip, and JR has suggested that I go with her!!! We'll see. You'll never guess what it is.

I have just spent a stressful time trying to book rail tickets to London for tomorrow. The fares start at £5 (book weeks ahead) but I kept getting fares of £65 single!! I was about to give up, but eventually got a more acceptable price.

So tomorrow we are having the day in the capital, having a mini blipmeet with Chamaeleo. He has promised to take us to his favourite cafes with decent coffee.

The excitement continues!

EDIT: I changed the title after freespiral's suggestion! But you need to have seen The Life of Pi, or at least, the poster.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.