fennerpearson

By fennerpearson

Waiting

I don't mind when the evenings start drawing in; I quite like the promise of winter and wrapping up warm and open fires and mulled wine and Christmas.

It begins to get me down a bit when it reaches that stage where it's dark when you get to work and dark when you leave, but even that is mitigated by the fact that I'm not in the office every day.

But around now, after Christmas and, funnily enough, after the shortest day, I begin to get a bit impatient with the situation. It's almost like I know the lighter evenings are on their way and suddenly my impatience kicks in.

All of which loosely chimes in with this photo of the short barge that is stationed just at the point on the Kendal to Lancaster canal where it is abruptly blocked by the A65 at Crooklands.

In the summer the barge sits in the water just by the bridge to Milness and, at the weekends, you can take a round trip to the point where the canal is filled in. (That's all you can do for now although there is a project to open up the canal again at a cost of £15M, I think, so not sure when that will happen!)

In the winter the barge disappears from the canal but today I caught sight of it, tucked away behind the bridge, waiting for summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.