Pixelfoto's Journal

By Pixelfoto

Pareidolia

Until today I hadn't come across the term Pareidolia. After lunch I was commenting on some blips and came across the term in HoneyCombeBeach's Blip. Then, after I had done some more necessary gardening, I was reading the latest issue of the RPS Visual Art magazine and read an article by Carol Emmas with the heading 'Pareidolia'. In it she says "My work is through the so-called Type 1 Error, or the false positive; in other words, I try to find landsacpes where none really exist. The term for this is pareidolia". This gave me an idea (thanks Mrs HCB) for today's Abstract Thursday challenge 'Filling the Frame' as we have several paving stones in our back garden which I think have landscapes within them. Yes, the colours have been exagerated a little!

Twelve years ago, when I was awarded my RPS Fellowship, my prints were of mini landscapes which I had found on corrugated iron. In my statement of intent I said that I enjoyed finding landscapes in natural or man made objects. So all those years later I have found that it has a name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.