Sieze the day

By Mario

Hoiho

Hoiho is the Maori name for the Yellow eyed Penguin. Marie and I went down to Moeraki this morning to look at the boulders and do some local tourism best trip I've done in a while. Great sky shots with boulders and what a fantastic time to see Yellowed eyed Penguins and not only that some we got to within 2 metres. Some were nesting with their juveniles which where big brown birds of fluff ,both the Juvinile and the Adult were about 800mm in Height. I am a little embarrassed my cousin come out from Canada last year and we went down to Oaumaru to the Yellow eyed penguin colony and you could just see them from a distance,these were so close. Marie got chased around by an upset Oyster catcher this little black bird with a long red bill chased my wife around and what did I do I couldn't help it but I started laughing. lots of seals and seal pups were seen basking on the rocks and playing in the sea. It tried to rain off and on all day and on the way home had a huge rain downpour with Lightning and thunder.Crossed the Waitaki heading for home and not even a hint that it had rained.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.