a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Birthday Girl

It has been my sister Janet's birthday today, she is 21 again and looking very good on it, considering that just 2 years ago she had a kidney transplant.

As Incredibish is away at Druid camp at the moment, we had a little celebration for Janet on her own.  Inside there was champagne strawberries and birthday cake for the birthday girl.  Outside the gales continue to rage and the rain blatters down.  I suspect Incredibish is having a bit of a time of it at camp poor soul :-(

As you can tell from the camera settings I did very well indeed to get this shot.  Cathy brought in the cake with its candles ablaze before I had got the camera ready.  The camera had been set up for macro shooting with a flash on manual settings.  I had bare seconds to change the lens, push up the ISO setting and adjust the aperture hoping for the best.  just a few seconds later the candles were out and that was that.  I was offered "take 2" but fortunately Janet had kept still enough and I had managed not to shake the camera ...
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.