DukeOfCeleriac

By DukeOfCeleriac

Day 6

When I was working in France 3 years ago at the end of every day as we sat down for tea we sat our “yummy’s and yucky’s” of the day. The idea is you say your first yummy, then your yucky and finally your second yummy. I found it a great way to reflect on your day, and thought I would include them in my blips. So here goes...

My first yummy was the breakfast I had in Rotterdam (see photo), I had a stack of pancakes with yoghurt, granola, (lots of) fruit and maple syrup. It was amazing and just what I needed to start a days cycling.

My yucky of the day was unfortunately almost as soon as we got off the ferry from Hull. Our first introduction to the Netherlands was Europoort, a huge gross industrial monster that you must pass through to make your way to Rotterdam. It was 35km from to get to Rotterdam and almost all of it was in Europoort - soul sucking.

My second yummy of the day was in the early evening as JD and I sat outside a Dutch supermarket, refueling on crisps, fruit and coffee. It suddenly hit me that we were really doing it! We were really cycling to Barcelona, and I can’t wait for what comes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.