... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Golden Jubilee Bridge: Union Flag?

I've had a wonderful day! I had a mini-blipmeet with LadyMarchmont and JR. I say "mini-blipmeet" because we really just met up, and two of us are blippers... I also say "mini-blipmeet" because that is what she called it in her blip yesterday, and I defer to her blip-terminology (out of confusion if nothing else). It was a fantastic day!

We had a casual coffee and nattered, then visited the NHM (and took in the Wildlife Photographer of the Year exhibition, whilst nattering), and then had lunch (and nattered, but had no coffee...), before hopping on the tube to migrate over to Trafalgar Square for a serious coffee at Notes which is a superb cafe just next to the Coliseum! There was also much nattering.

It was very jolly, and I took surprisingly few photographs that came out... By the time that I started taking potentially blippable photographs (i.e. not ones of LadyMarchmont and JR which were deemed unblippable), it was already dark and I was battling my camera's tendency to put stars (well, hot pixels) all over my low-light pictures... Meh. I've got quite a few very starry (but otherwise nice) ones of Trafalgar Square's colourfully lit fountains, but hey ho.

So, here is a photo that I took as we crossed the river on the Golden Jubilee Bridge that runs between Embankment and the Southbank Centre: the view was great, so I (obviously) looked straight up and was rather hypnotised by the geometric shapes and angles created by the bridge's intriguing pylons, deck stays, and the bright blue lights that illuminate the whole structure. This reminds me of a union flag, but the pylons aren't actually standing at the same angle so it isn't quite symmetrical...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.