angellightphoto

By angellightphoto

on the eastern front

...we were delighted to wake up to a dry day with far better visibility than expected. In fact, the Isle of White was beautifully visible from our sitting room window, which is always a good sign!

Consequently, I decided to go back to get the image I was planning to blip yesterday. Unfortunately, when I arrived, there were several cars parked on the driveway so I set off to investigate some other houses that are on my list. This turned out to be unproductive because both of the manor houses that I strolled around were hidden behind high and impenetrable thickets. I will have to give capturing the essence of these fine houses some thought.

Anyway, the poor successes of my morning turned out to be providential because, when I went back to my original target this afternoon, not only had the cars disappeared but the sun made a watery appearance.

This is the same property, that I blipped on New Year's Day, only this is the Tudor style eastern facade that was built by the Rev. Nathaniel Bond in 1846 and so different from the Georgian south side of the manor. When you look at both images, you get a real impression of how vast this 26 bedroom country house really is...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.