New Market Battlefield and Museum

What A Day........    I started out in New Market, Shenandoah Vally , Virginia.  I was there at 7:40 am. The sun was from the east and just coming over the Blue Ridge Mountains, which meant I could only get photos of the buildings under the covered walks of the main road going N/S.  It was great!  I was out of the sun!!!!
     All of the buildings were in beautiful to really good shape.  You could see where the residents of New Market took great pride and care in everything they did.  The buildings are great examples of the style and design of the era.  The one thing I couldn't do was get rid of electric lines.  They are strung everywhere, so as not to invasively enter the homes and destroy their integrity.
   I sat down and talked with a fuzzy faced, old guy who was sitting on one of the many benches provided.  His name was CH.....He was a Viet Nam veteran and lives there because it's peaceful, quiet, full of good people, and beautiful.   He was telling me the history of each house, who used to live their,  the war stories handed down in the families, from the battles fought there.  It was a great 20 min conversation.  He sent me to the Battlefield and Museum of New Market.  The buildings are in the extras.
       The Museum was terrific.  It was full of original photos and artifacts from the Civil War through the Viet  Nam war.  I tried to get photos, which were allowed, but the flash reflected from the glass and spoiled them.   Native American Indians were represented there, as well..... the great Indian Chiefs, their regalia, homes, lives, arrows, (from the battle of Litlte Big Horn with George Custer) shrapnel, cannons, exploded cannon pieces, clothing, guns, shoes, boots, saddles......  It was very detailed, inclusive,  thoughtful.... I even saw Audie Murphy, the Lone Ranger and Tonto (in cardboard cutouts) where kids were getting the pictures taken.  It was terrific!!!!   Though, the music was haunting, quiet and touched your soul.  It was entirely appropriate for the setting, but it reminded you that freedom is not FREE.   There is always a price to be paid.
     Then I walked the battlefield,  We were given a paper that explained the tactics and outcomes of the battle.  There were actually, 8 battles fought in the Shenandoah.  It was a very important geographical location to to the outcome of the Civil War.  Monuments were placed where it was thought the different units fought from, (decided from reports, photos, papers from generals, etc.)  That is the main collage.
     After I left the battlefield, I drove to the Shenandoah Caverns.   Fascinating!    60 feet below surface were beautiful caverns, made from water erosion, with minerals and colors, ceilings, stalactites and stalagmites,....  This is a place to experience, you can't describe it.  48-50 degrees temp, dark, but softly lit so as not to dull the experience, echos, close, watch your head and duck, or you will have an awful headache.!  We were down there well over an hour!  I started to shiver,  thin blood from Florida, ou know!
     Amazing day, but exhausting.  I fell asleep while try to post this last night, so .....  I am finishing it today.  I decided to stay an extra day right where I am,  I will go to the Blue Ridge Mountains later  in the Shenandoah Natl. Park, but return back to this hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.