Let There Be Light

By solli

The Ringed Kingfisher

Megaceryle torquatus

After spending five hours cleaning the kitchen, I fairly bolted out the door to see what was happening at Echo Lake Park. All three lakes were frozen but a small stream was running freely near the waterfall so I decided to park the car and take a look about. Of course I left the camera in the car.

The waterfowl were missing at this end of the park but I spotted a black and white hairy woodpecker so I ran back to get my equipment, knowing full well I'd blown it; there was no way the bird would still be sitting in the tree by the time I got back. Sure enough he was gone but just as I arrived a new bird flew in and I was able to fire off three shots before he took off for solitary points unknown.

Although the photo is not the best, I'm pleased that I captured him! I've been trying for over a year to get something as worthy as Swampy's lady but the Echo Lake kingfishers are ridiculously elusive.

To see him in his full environment please click here.

Thank you for giving Titus your hearts and stars yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.