An unusual warning

This afternoon we all went the 20 - 30 minutes further east to Goat Island Bay, near Leigh. This is the centre of a large marine reserve, where the taking of any fish, or shellfish, or damaging the plant life in any way is banned. Great for snorkelling, and also excellent for looking in rock pools. Unfortunately, even with a good half hour in the Marine Centre first, we had arrived a little too early for the rock pools, and the children were unkeen on walking around to where there were better pools.

So we relocated a little distance back towards home; at Matheson Bay. Interesting process there. Needed to walk through a bit of water to get to some excellent rock pools. Both children (Miss 7 and Mstr 5), accompanied tsuken, S, J and me to the rocks. Once there, Mstr 5 decided to create a race car track in the sand. Miss 7 accompanied the adults to look in the pools and was fascinated with crabs, starfish, shrimps, and the rest. Tsuken took a photograph or three. I struggled with old man's bare feet on rough rocks, which was enough to think about.

Back here, and I headed out for a short jog on which I saw and photographed a kotare, a heron and in a rare (once a year sighting) the Lesser Red Sand Runner, leaping boulders in a single bound as he waited for me to take my pictures. More commonly seen in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney.

After all of that, I have chosen this photograph, on the advice of S, who was taken with the sign; borrowed from a Queensland creek I'm sure. It reads "Danger Crocodiles. No swimming". I did some minor adjustments in iPhoto to improve the detail a little. I now agree it's the best for the day. It is better seen large.

Now the children are in bed; their parents are out to a Thai meal in a nearby restaurant, and we S and J are preparing a meal for the late arrival of my niece who will be with us for a short stay. My task is to serve and sample the wine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.