A Thousand a Day

By Daver64

Joseph Wilson

Like most Geordies, I consider Geordie Ridley's, "Blaydon Races" to be our anthem. The first Geordie song I remember learning though, was "Keep yer feet still, Geordie hinny!", and it's still one of my favourites. (If you don't know it, have a listen, it's got romance, dancing, a fight and a happy ending. And, long before Dallas writers came up with the idea, it was all just a dream!)

I first learned this song when I was in what would be called Year 8 in new money. Mr Poulton, our mad, Irish music teacher would bang on the piano keys and bark at anyone he heard singing 'night' instead of 'neet'. I found out just recently, that the writer of this great song is buried in an old cemetery not far from my home.

The inscription reads:
"It's been my aim t' hev a place
I' the hearts o' th' Tyneside people
Wi' writin' bits o' hyemly sangs
Aw think they'll sing."

Just 33 when he died - we still sing his songs.
The column has not been vandalised, nor damaged by storms. It was installed like that, representing a life cut short.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.