Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The sights of Brighton

Slept like a log last night! Absolutely exhausted. Which made me realise that I'm daydreaming, thinking that I can go on a (very physical) adventure with my friend the adventurer...

Beautiful morning down on the beach for Henry and I, then the bus into Brighton for the day (not Henry). Enjoyed exploring the Laines again, and seeing the sights. It's a bit like Edinburgh in the Festival with, er, interesting looking people. Lots of quirky shops with daft things in - I like those.

I got myself a torch and a laser light. I have never been interested in such things BB (before blip).

We searched around and eventually found Bill's restaurant, which Henry's mum had recommended, and we'd read about. So glad we didn't give up the search - it was brilliant. Huge, noisy, communal tables, delicious food, and all sorts of Bill's produce around to buy. We tried to persuade the waitress to tell her boss that he must come and set up in Edinburgh!

I fell in love with a wee toddler at the next table. His mum completely ignored him, chatting to a friend while he toddled around, offering me his bottle, dancing to Nina Simone, getting in the way of the staff, but he never went too far. The father did get up now again to see to him.

You get pretty interesting snippets of conversation as to you pass folk in Brighton... I had quite a few quirky shots, as you can imagine, but eventually settled for this one. I think he's someone famous. Possibly Johnny Depp. Either that or he's just a chap up to no good.

Home again. Flat out on sofa. Will try to catch up with comments this evening. After a wee snooze.

And I don't think proper adventurers need wee snoozes in the afternoon...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.