Highland Stoneware mosaic

We're now at the last stop on our tour of the Highlands with Mummy hazelh. We are staying in the village of Cannich, near Beauly. In the summers of the early 1980s my family rented a shooting lodge near here so that we could fish for salmon on the River Glass. Tomorrow we will be checking our old haunts further up the valley.

We took a wee diversion north before driving here this afternoon. This was to take Mummy hazelh back to Lochinver. On the way there we passed the site of another family holiday at Inchnadamph. In the village of Lochinver itself we visited the famous pie shop and the Highland Stoneware workshop.

There aren't many options for dinner in Cannich so we all ordered curries in the local restaurant this evening. My 'mild' chicken tikka masala was not as advertised. Indeed it was so fiery that I felt obliged to ask for a plain pizza as an edible replacement. I think that this is the first time in my life that I have ever sent my food back to the kitchen.

In other news I won today’s Scrabble match by one point. The series score is now Mr hazelh 3: hazelh 2.

My blip is from a mosaic of broken Highland Stoneware on display in the form of an enormous sofa in Lochinver.

Exercise today: none  apart from a tiny amount of walking (4568 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.