WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Spoilt for choice

I didn't intend to add to my door series yet again ... it just happened. Actually, I intended to go to the photojournalism festival in Perpignan, Visa pour l'Image, and was looking forward to some blipportunities there. But in what is becoming a tiresomely familiar scenario, I got to the station in Lézignan and bought my ticket despite the woman at the counter telling me the train was late -- I looked at the display and it said 5 minutes delay. Sure enough, the train pulled in five minutes behind schedule and then the driver told us it was terminating there as he had no idea when he might be able to continue: signal failure.

I got off, glad I hadn't actually gone anywhere on it, and returned to the desk. "I told you it was late." "Yes, but you didn't tell me it wasn't going anywhere." "Would you like a refund?" I was delighted -- last time this happened I was 60 euros out of pocket because the SNCF said we could just get a later train, which would arrive hours after we needed to be there.

So, back home, stopping for petrol and shopping to justify the journey. Later I took advantage of new-found mobility to go out for a blip wander; after an overcast start it had turned into a lovely day. I dropped some scores off in T's letterbox and then had a walk around Ribaute, not something I normally do. I had difficulty choosing: here's my second choice, and other possibilities here and here (the last actually a shutter with a letterbox in it -- how does that work?). Extra: a very shiny Renault 4.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.