Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Robin 200

Its been a bit of a struggle, but I've finally made it to 200 blips. On the way I have seen some fantastic photos from fellow blippers and have received some warm amd encouraging feedback - thanks to you all. I also met some of you at a South of England Blip meet (looking forward to the next).

Having realised this event would fall on a Saturday , I had already decided to head out with the camera whatever the weather. My first port of call was to a car park next to the River Wey near Ripley, Surrey, from which walks along the River and Wey canal to Newark Lock were accessible. From the road one can see the ruins of an church of some sort - checking on google, this appears to be Newark Priory. The ruins are not accessible to the public and the are unfortunately on the "at risk" register - but they make an interesting view (I must try some in mono at well) as you can see here.

It was then on to Wisley, just a few miles away, for a lovely warming soup, before what was supposed to be a quick walk round the garden before going food shopping, but ended up staying the afternoon, and didn't get home until well after 6pm (I did do the shopping though!).

And so onto my Bilp for today. Robins are supposed to be be very territorial, but I saw lots of these friendly guys while walking round. This one came up to me while I was sitting on a bench contemplating a swap of lens - I could have almost reached out to stroke him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.