Capital adventures

By marchmont

Out/in x 3

#1 off to the pool, slightly later than normal but they were behind too, still setting up lane ropes at almost 9 a.m.  A kilometre followed by veg shopping in Aldi and then home to do the laundry and hoovering,  Saturdays are so exciting.

#2 after a chat with E out to the ANESFHS Edinburgh group meeting. I was nearly late but made it just as IN was introducing the speaker.  It was a fascinating and breath taking lecture on DNA for genealogy.  I need to go back and review our results.  I ducked the coffee and 10th birthday cake to make a return to Primark.  Home for dinner.

#3 out to the Topping bookshop event, in Greenside Church, with Jon Sopel.  He was very funny, a bit rambly but has amazing tales to tell of being the BBC Washington correspondent in Trump time.  The deliberate changing of history is only one of the things to be really worried about.  real echoes with some of the history of the 'Rise of the Nazis' being covered on BBC2 earlier in the week.  I bought the book.  I also had a chat with one of the ushers.  Greenside is the very first church I remember going to, way back in the late 1950's.  My great uncle is remembered on the WW1 plaque in the entrance hall.  I was pleased to see his name. Home to watch the second half of the Last Night of the Proms.  Somehow 'may she defend our laws' had more resonance than in previous years. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.