Tempest

Jill and I left around 6:30 a.m. to drive six hours to Cincinnati for the day. We had to visit Coney Island, a small amusement park that earlier this week announced it's removing all its rides at the end of the year. That pretty much means Coney Island is closing. The water park will remain.

Since we'd never been, we decided to try to go. I was luckily granted the day off (I was happily surprised at how accommodating my job was).

It was a long drive but worth it. There's one roller coaster, a small steel coaster called Python. The rest of it has some classic and newer rides. In the photo above is Tempest, a rare spinning ride. I'd only ever seen one before, at Conneaut Lake Park, and this one is run so much better. It's fast and tons of fun. We rode twice.

Coney Island was the 26th amusement park we've visited this year. Python was my 294th roller coaster.

It's always sad when an amusement park closes. It's sadder when it's one I haven't been to. I am so glad we were able to get to this. It was worth the 18-hour day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.