Cheeriness

Not a lot to report on the home front today. It was a lovely autumn day with plenty of sun to tease me out for an early food shop before the students got there and crammed the aisles.
Today was advertised as the Edinburgh Autumn holiday and certainly the schools were on holiday but not obviously most of the shops.

I walked into town to buy sock wool and almost managed in a straight line despite the multiple case pullers straddled across the pavements. I made a detour to record the fact that my old School in Queen Street had been turned into a Hotel or rather a Yotel - a new one on me! I wonder what our esteemed headmistress, who’s infamy stretched beyond the portals of the school itself, would make of that.
Almost next door, adding an oasis of cheery colour, was this little café where the yellow was at odds with the surrounding beige stone. It did look very inviting, but I had already coffeed.

I was surprised to see that despite all the chaos of tourists and festivals, some city centre streets were still shut after nearly a fortnight for filming. Sometimes you couldn’t make it up. Heaven help any tourist with a car trying to navigate through the city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.