Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

I'll be your belly dancer, if you'll be my sheik

Lazed around (again!) this morning, tidied up the garden and then went to enjoy a New year's cultural event called Frisse Oren (=fresh ears).

It was great fun, and the first time I'd actually set foot in the local theatre; a gorgeous building, I was just as fascinated by the music as I was in the building.

I still don't seem to have mastered 'live music' photos, so concentrated instead on taking photos of the architecture and enjoying the music. To convey the latter onto a photo is very hard.

Everything I saw was great in its own right, but my favourite was a group called 'Het Gipsy Festival'. A mixture of folk, klezmer, and a touch of rockabilly. Which is what gypsy music is all about really. They also had a couple of belly danccers. They raised the roof, I'm sure this was to do with the music, and not just the dancers ;)

Oh, and when I left the theatre, just after 17.00, it was dusk, and not pitch black outside.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.