Out damn logo

I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m not really cut out for going on Demos. When the crowd are chanting
‘WHAT DO WE WANT ? CLIMATE ACTION , WHEN DO WE WANT IT ? NOW!’
I’m the one at the back mumbling rather diffidently
‘ I say , would you mind awfully doing something about climate change as soon as possible please.’ in a frightfully British sort of way.
I’m not really a shouty placard-waving person.
But still I was curious and went along to the Stratford demo . I cycled there.
There was a good turn out . Everyone met outside Shakespeare’s birthplace , in the photo , and proceeded round the town in a slightly haphazard way to the Royal Shakespeare Theatre where the man in the fancy hat spoke.
He is a member of a theatre activist group BP or not BP, which started a while ago by mobbing the stage just before Curtain up at the RSC, because they have received major sponsorship from BP.
BP’s logo was ‘BP fuelling the future ‘ which was printed on the back of the theatre programmes. The guerilla theatre people invited the audience to tear out the page of their programme and hand it in as a protest.
Anyway BP still sponsor the RSC but in a slightly lower key way.

I realise that a lot of people drove or took fossil fuelled transport to the demos .
I realise that all of us depend on food and goods being transported to us.
I realise that many people’s livelihoods depend on businesses where the object is to sell as much stuff as possible to as many people as possible.
And I like going away on holiday as much as anyone!

Massive dilemma then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.