Our little girl

Today had one the hardest moments of my life in it, it also had THE very best one.

Claire was in hospital last night to have an induced labour. Because of various issues and timings they decided not to induce her till this morning but little madame decided to try the natural way with contractions starting in the middle of the night.

As Claire was doing so well they decided not to induce her and brake her waters a little later on in the morning.

Contractions were strong and all looked good.....then the midwife became a little concerned with some of the observation readings with babies heartbeat. Within 15 minutes my world came crashing down when four doctors surrounded Claire and said she was having to be prepped for an emergency C section. I couldn't believe how fast a perfect birth turned into a critical one.

A couple of minutes later, Claire was being wheeled into Theatre without me.... to say I broke down is putting it lightly.

This is when things started to get better though.

I was sitting just the other side of a wall from Claire and after time slowing down to the point of stopping, I was told I could enter the operating room. Claire was doing brilliantly and was already numb and had been cut open, a few seconds later our baby was out, I was there for that moment which was brilliant.

Tears of worry turned to joy the second we heard her cry.

I was given the honour of having her in my arms sitting next to a beaming Claire.

From the decision to perform a C-section to the cut was less than 15 minutes and the time from cut to baby out was 1 minute 15 seconds how amazing is that.

I can not thank the team a Russells Hall hospital enough. The NHS is an amazing thing to have and we should certainly look after it.

It was really hard leaving Claire and Baby Bo tonight but 22:00 was all I could stay till. I'll be back first thing and hopefully Claire can be discharged as soon as possible.

I've had 2 hours sleep in over 36 so I'm going to bed, but I'm not sure I'll sleep. 

This little one played up before she came out but since then she's been a little star and is feeding and resting well.

Born at 15:11 weighing 7.13lb......name TBC ;)

Over the moon 

Mr Bo Hingles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.