a town called E.

By Eej

Things that mean something


Yesterday would have been my parents 65th wedding anniversary. I didn't forget. (But even if I had, there are these little one-year-ago thumbnails that would have reminded me) I was however in no state to come up with anything creative to commemorate - so I didn't.
I wasn't in a much better state today but when I looked straight ahead from my pillow, I saw this. *points at photo*
The elegant little table with the long legs has been in my posession since I left home at 18 but it started its life as a wedding present, 65 years ago yesterday.
My Mam has told me who gave it to them and I wish I remembered :/
It took a bit of a beating being shipped across the ocean, and layers of paint that were only mostly removed have given it a fairly weathered look, but to me that's just added character.

The only things in this photo that weren't a gift are the mirror ($5 at the Goodwill store) and the bed stuff. There is the quilt that was made for our wedding, an Afghan at the foot of the bed, a treasure chest, a small colourful wooden box, the fairy and the little black and white cat that my Mam made me many, many, many, many (you get the idea) years ago.

It's surprising that with so much loveliness surrounding me I get sick at all :)

(but back to bed I go, jittery legs and wobbly head 'n all)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.