Scribbler

By scribbler

Padre Pio

Padre Pio was a twentieth century saint, known as a spiritual director, confessor, and bearer in his flesh of the stigmata (the wounds of Christ). His official name is St. Pio of Pietrelcina, but everyone I know still calls him Padre Pio, or sometimes St. Padre Pio.

His feast was three days ago, and one of my favorite priests was saying mass that afternoon, but I took a nap and slept right through the alarm. 

Padre Pio wasn't done with me, though. Yesterday I passed a house on Fremont Avenue that had Christian paintings and symbols. I noticed that the glass door was etched with the words "PRAY, HOPE AND DON'T WORRY." I recognized this as a quote from Padre Pio because I had put it in a painting in 1998 — it sounded to me like a promise. So although I failed to visit Padre Pio on his feast day, he has visited me!

Then today I received this email from my friend Grace in the Philippines:
September 23rd was the feast of St. Padre Pio, patron saint of all ailments.  He carried the 5 major wounds of Jesus for 50 years until his death in 1968 - he was canonized  in 2002 by St. Pope John Paul II.  Our parish church here, Our Lady of Peace & Good Voyage has the grotto and prayer room of St. Pio.  Many pilgrims from other cities come every 4th Saturday of the month when a Mass is held in his honor.  St. Padre Pio said, "PRAY, HOPE AND DON'T WORRY".

This too reminded me of my painting, so I fished it out of an old journal and photographed it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.