KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Gorgeous Fall Day!

It was a chilly 37 degrees F this morning where I live just west of the City of Portland. But it warmed up to the mid-60's by mid-afternoon and the sky was an absolutely brilliant blue. 

I didn't think I'd find any critters out in the garden this afternoon, given the cool day, but found what iNaturalist assures me is a Common Tree Cricket. I've never seen a cricket this color - when I lived in New England all the crickets were very dark brown. Funny I never ran into a cricket here in western Oregon. Now I know!

Clearly this cricket is enjoying a bit of a sun bathe on a Xerochrysum bracteatum also known as a Strawflower. These are the oddest flowers, if you don't know them. They are brittle to the touch even while growing. They dry easily of course and are great fun to use in arrangements and in horticultural therapy activities.

Off to Michigan tomorrow for the annual horticultural therapy conference. Hopefully I'll find some interesting blips in my travels!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.