Thelma has Gone. Shetland Day 6

Thelma has gone. Not, I hasten to add over a cliff but on to the ferry to Orkney.
I, Louise, am on my own until tomorrow evening, but there is still much to do as Wool Week draws to a close.

We took the hire car back this morning and our wings were clipped as a result. However, we managed a comprehensive trawl of the shops in town before getting back to the Museum hub for Poppy to have a photo call with Shetland ponies decked out in Fair Isle knitwear, as seen in the extra. What is more amazing than somebody knitting Fair Isle jumpers for ponies is that someone managed to put them on the animals.

After lunch we had an interesting talk by one, Esther Rutter, who has just written a book ‘A journey Through Britain’s Knitted History’. It really was interesting so there was absolutely no excuse for my eyes to keep shutting and and to have an overwhelming desire to snooze. Fortunately she stopped before I let myself down.

There was an hour of desultory chat and knitting at the hub before I saw Poppy safely on to the ferry and I returned to my suddenly lonely B&B.

A glass of my usual Friday Pinot Grigio has dulled the loss of company and tomorrow it will be my turn for life on the open wave.
It has been a wonderful few days in Shetland with amazing weather and the exhilarating company of Poppy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.