Honfleur

We had a lazy start to the day. I got up, made tea, warmed up some pain au chocolat and took it back to bed. It was drizzling but by the time we were up and going out it had stopped. We headed to Honfleur as we'd had a few recommendations on here and elsewhere. It is a lovely place but quite busy even this late in the season. There were little crocodiles of people following leaders with flags and microphones feeding commentaries to their earpieces. 

We parked up and paid €8 for four hours which seemed more reasonable until someone told us it was free another hundred yards up the road! We got a coffee first then we sorted out a place to meet up before going our separate ways. I went off round the old harbour and some of the oldest parts of town and also checked out some of the places we could eat. Then I went out across the Bassin de l'Est to the lighthouse and got back to the Old Harbour as it started to rain, heavily. I took shelter under an awning and waited for it to slacken off but it didn't. I phoned Marian to find how she was doing but just as it started to ring I saw her across the street and waved to catch her eye.

She'd had some tips from a local for good places to eat. One of these turned out to be closed on a Wednesday but the other was one that I'd identified earlier.

It's Wideangle Wednesday and this weeks theme is 'Leaning or Bent' and wile most of the sailing ships have their masts going 'straight up' (which I thought was the theme) another one's masts are decidedly leaning at an angle. Phew, got out of that one but maybe not well enough for BobsBlips who's hosting as usual.

I've added extras of the lighthouse and an old street in Honfleur. I've also added more to my album here if you'd like to see them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.