... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Robin Refrain

Better in large ("L")!
*Update* Photo changed: it is no longer singing, but this one looks better on blip...

This morning I went to Wimbledon Park for the first time: it was recommended to me by my godfather (it has a large pond...) and I've since learned that it was landscaped by Capability Brown! It was very grey this morning and drizzling slightly, so I didn't get any good pictures, but there was a great crested grebe on the pond so I may try to return tomorrow to photograph it if the light is better. I'll have to explore the park further: I passed a 'waterfall garden' as I made my way to the pond!

This afternoon, the sun suddenly emerged so I went straight to Wandsworth Common to see what I could see: I photographed blue tits and long-tailed tits, tufted ducks and coots, and then had a charming encounter with this chirpy little robin. I landed on a branch very close to me and hopped around and shrugged its shoulders (probably being territorial...), but then burst into song which was simply magical. It sang so loudly! I crept closer but it didn't seem fazed: I got a few crisper photographs, but this one shows it with its mouth open to blast out its melodious song.
*Update* I took down the singing photo because it simply lacked punch at this size: this photo has better detail.

I returned via Clapham Common, and the swans are still not there... *Sigh*

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.