For Sale

Today a struggling UK photography retailer went into administration. I'm not surprised, for too long they had too many expensive shops, with too many staff in them selling too little stuff. It's a common problem in the UK where businesses are being crushed under the weight of rent, debt and salary bills. A lot of people blame the internet but there has always been healthy competition from mail order businesses that have always been cheaper than high street shops so I feel it's a bit of a cop out...

I had a look to see what I had that had Jessops on and this is a slide light box I was given a number of years ago. It does get used just not for slides as much as I would like. I must confess that the last expensive photographic things I bought, was from a department store famous for never being knowingly undersold and they did offer a much better price that Jessops...

It will be sad if they go but perhaps town centres need to be cheaper places to do business in if businesses are going to survive in them...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.