Coal Train Graffiti

I finished this painting today. The show won't be until May but I got a head start. I like how edgy it turned out. It is my statement about the coal trains that would run through the city of Bellingham if the big coal terminal is completed at Cherry Point. I think the whole idea is terrible. We don't need to send coal to China. The jobs that it would provide don't make up for those lost by destroying the clean and healthy character of our city. Most of the new jobs would actually be in China, not here. And the pollution from burning the coal would make its way from China to us due to the prevailing winds. And the financial benefit will mostly be to the large corporation that wants to build it. My teacher is having a show called "Coal Train." Painters can take either side of the controversy. So far there have been none who are in favor of the coal terminal. Mine was the first painting completed. Take a look at the "L" large version.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.