Half-staff for Rep. Elijah Cummings

The congressman from the Baltimore district died yesterday. The flags at the Sheetz convenience store and gas station are at half-staff because of it.

Today was interesting and uncomfortable. While I was trying to cross the driveway to this gas station, a driver stopped and made eye contact with me. I started to cross, but she hit the gas. So I stopped, and then she stopped again. I thought she wanted me to go, so I stepped forward, and she sped past in front of me, almost hitting me. I slapped the rear panel of her car and told her to watch out.

She stopped, rolled down her window and shouted, "Come into this parking lot so I can run you over!" I told her to watch where she's going. I thought I did everything right. I looked both ways, I made eye contact, and she had stopped. She got out of her car. I took this photo and walked off. She called the police, but I just walked away. I didn't want a fight. Her plastic panel has no damage (though I did sting my hand).

I don't know the lesson here other than maybe I should watch my temper. But she almost hit me. Hey, at least my three-day vacation was nice. Some welcome back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.