Roseannasnp

By Roseannasnp

Bishop's Close

Not a great picture & I didn't really mean the Mitre to figure quite so prominently! The point of the picture is really the gap above the bar which is where I lived for a while when about four years old. The Close itself, in Edinburgh's High Street, is obscured by the ladder - there seems to be a lot of work being done in the Royal Mile pub on the other side of the Close.

We lived in a top floor flat which was a two room and kitchen. Toilet but no bathroom. Two adults, two kids. My Gran lived next door in a room & kitchen. These will be well known descriptions to Scots!

I remember it well for two reasons. (1) my envy of the children I could see going to school - I was desperate to go to school and (2) my Gran sending me down to the local shop to buy 5 Woodbine. Remember Woodbine cigs? Tells you how long ago it was that a 4 year old would be served!

It was certainly long before the Royal Mile became a tourist hotspot :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.