Inedible

A day of mixed fortunes with the good ones predominating.
There was an early return of an article of clothing which did me no favours except give me back the money I spent on it. Impulse buying rarely has a good outcome. How I wish I still had my fashion adviser with me- I struggle on my own.

Back home I made a concerted effort to finish the book group book which made the muddle of content slightly clearer. Just as I was at the last page the letter box delivered a brown envelope with a flourish.

Brown utility envelopes are not generally the harbinger of good news, but this one heralded the news of a 25p pension increase a week, the result of a significant birthday on the horizon. My mind went into overdrive at the thought of what I might spend this extra money on. In a month, I would have enough to buy a 2nd class stamp with money left over. My heart skipped a beat at the prospect.

Still reeling from the contents of that letter, my good fortune continued, relaying by way of my I-watch to I-phone that I had done more exercise today than yesterday, although it tells me I haven’t walked and run as far this month as last month. I blame the fingerless gloves.
Worse than that is the fact that my average mileage this year is only 5.3 miles a day compared to 6.5 miles last year. I blame the FairIsle beanies.

Are you still with me? If so you will understand why, for the first time in 3 months standing on the scales this morning in a complete state of undress, the reading was so unbelievable (in a bad way), that I moved them about the floor to get a better reading, but to no avail. Stobo will only make matters worse, not to mention the cake at the book group meeting tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.