A wintry Cotswold farm view

Yesterday's council briefing was followed by a training session for me on how various financial systems work. It was more interesting than I had expected, which was a pleasant surprise, but it did take all morning. I didn't walk into town as I was late in setting off for my appointment, so I continued up the hill from Stroud to Bisley to stock up with vegetables at the farm shop.

Byt the time I got to the top of the hill overlooking the various valleys the overcast mists under the cloud cover progressively thinned, but didn't wholly disappear and I was glad I had brought my camera. After having a chat with the farmer at the shop and buying all the delightfully fresh foods, I left the car in the yard and walked short way onto the road as i noticed the sun was just about penetrating the misty conditions for a few seconds at a time.

I noticed a flock of birds, probably fifty or more, flying together in swooping arcs over a ploughed field across the road. I thought they were pigeons at first then realised that they were unusual and certainly not pigeons. Looking now at their picture I can just about see their colours and think they must be winter visitors. I will try to identify them, and I wish I'd got clearer images.

When I turned around I saw the misty fields, woods and trees in the distance and rather liked the view, and the washed out colours

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.